The FIA World Endurance Championship is the world’s leading sportscar competition. Founded in 2012,
the WEC races all over the world, taking place in nine countries and four continents.

2017 sees a new era of LMP2 racing as fresh regulations see new cars and a new engine showcased in the growing category.

Jota Sport, in conjunction with Jackie Chan DC Racing will run two Oreca 07 LMP2 cars which will be powered by a new 4.2-litre V8 engine which will boost the power output to around 600bhp.

The championship is broken down in to five classes: LMP1 (Le Mans Prototype), LMP1 privateers and LMP2
for bespoke thoroughbred prototype sportscars, LMGTE (Le Mans Grand Touring Endurance) for both Pro and
Am categories.


LMP2 teams must be made up of two or three drivers. One of the squad must be a silver or bronze categorised driver.


All but one of the nine races held are over six hours in duration. The exception is the famous Le Mans 24 Hours which begins at 3pm CET and ends exactly 24 hours later.


Qualifying sees all cars having to designate two drivers and each has to set at least one timed lap. The LMP2 class must have its silvers or bronze categorised driver take part in qualifying. The average of the two best lap times (the best from each driver) will serve as the reference time for establishing the grid.


For a handy guide to the WEC’s rules and regulations click here

Keep Up with Jota

Receive regular updates, right to your inbox

Live Updates

Follow us on Twitter for live updates.